For you there’s nothing in this world I wouldn’t do

Howdy folks,

these words are part of the beautiful song “Hey brother” by Avicii you can listen to playing the video below.

World wide web

World wide web (Photo credit: patrikneckman)

Do you know this feeling of deep love an care for the world? The feeling that you want to change something for the better, to make this world become a better place?

The effects of just one month spent in a Viet ...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I mean sure, many of us are leading quite a good life nowadays but there is still starvation, disease and poverty around. There is also what I would like to call the “intellectual starvation”, the “over-consumption” disease and the “can’t pay my debt rates anymore” poverty in what we think of civilized society. So we can already think about a lot of things to do next door instead of hoping that it never happens to us or that we never become this way. We need to make a change my friends!

I am wondering what are the things I really need in my life. I will try to write down a list here beginning with the material things as they might come easier into my mind:

  • My notebook and smart phone (and the WWW) to work on my research, to collaborate and to communicate with my friends
  • A house and a bed are very nice things though other things might do depending on the climate
  • Clothes look good and might make me feel more comfortable but might not be necessary depending on the climate either
  • I am really a fan of my cosmetics and toothbrush and think most of them help me to lead a better life
  • Piano

    Piano (Photo credit: esc861)

    If I was not a singer, I surely would need some music instruments

  • Something to eat is necessary of course.
  • Because of the way we live, I need some money to satisfy my needs
  • Without friends, family and love, the world would be a much darker place
  • I need to sing because I love it (quite true for my other spare time activities)
  • Okay, let’s definitely add music and arts to this list!
simple

simple (Photo credit: monkeyc.net)

I could have missed something here but I think you might already grasp my point by this rather short list compared to the amount of things one might possess. I already think that I own quite a lot of things I hardly need and might change this fact. But I guess thinking carefully about really needing it before buying something (a proactive strategy) is needed much more. I will keep that in mind!

I hope you will find your way to make our world become a better place. What do you think of? What do you do to make a change?

May peace surround you and be happiness your friend,

Chris

P.S.: As I never experienced war, peace is quite natural to me but I guess I should add it to my list. Peace!

16 thoughts on “For you there’s nothing in this world I wouldn’t do

  1. Great post! And I completely agree with you about the basic things that we absolutely do need in our lives, nowadays people just buy things even when they don’t really have the need to. I mean just imagine how much we would save if people actually asked themselves ‘Do I really need this’ before buying something.
    And I also agree with wanting to help people, I think everybody has an inner need to do some selfless good to someone, and I feel like actually teaching a person how to make a living is far better than giving him money for a day; as the proverb goes ‘Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.’

    And I recently came upon this question which did make me ponder:
    If all the nations in the world are in debt, where did all the money go?”
    If you honestly look at it, it is quite a sensible question.

  2. I like the way you think! I agree with you that we should be clear on what we need in life no matter how simple they seem, such as a bed or a toothbrush. I also really agree that with people we care about, the world becomes a better place. Likewise the arts surely make life more meaningful. Excellent post as always! :)

  3. I was pondering much the same thing today. How I could make the world better, by giving up more. I recently read about The Moneyless Man, Mark Boyle. Very interesting character, who changed the way he lived after he discovered a man named, “Ghandi.” I don’t think I could go that far, but I could survive on far less consumerism, and a lot more local participation.

  4. Hi Chris.
    Peace are the first in my list, after having experienced life with no peace too.
    A good idea, when I go out shopping might be, that I ask myself if I can live without the things like clothes etc. or not, before I buy. This helps me to save both money and space.
    I would like to do something for the poor people here in Spain, but it is very difficult to be allowed to do anything because of the rules, as are very restrictive here. Like opening a secondhand shop, where all income goes directly to help people in need. I did use time for this in Denmark, which was a nice feeling.
    May peace also surround you Chris.
    Irene

Become a brave one - leave a comment

