Remixing Relationships Vol. I

Howdy folks,

Today I want to present you five of my friends posts that I mixed up into a little short story. Hope you enjoy it and that it might inspire you to check out their amazing blogs…

Curious George (film)

Curious George (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Years ..you captured through the fine lenses

making people smile..without any senses

Just…you walked in and commanded to do

people lined up and smiled at you

(Source: http://kalabalu.wordpress.com/2013/08/06/the-broken-camera/)

Zachary Quinto as Spock in the 2009 Star Trek film

Zachary Quinto as Spock in the 2009 Star Trek film (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Not this year! Boy oh boy not this year… I’ve never seen so many people there (about 70,000). It was astounding. Then I realized something worse than the hordes of strangers invading my lazy countryside: I looked awful. Everyone else was dressed in fancy riding and hunting gear and I was wearing a ratty pair of shorts, no makeup, my hair was tossed up in a messy ponytail and I had on a Curious George t-shirt. Curious George. I mean come on. People started staring at me, and not in a nice way. The fact that I was beet red probably didn’t help.

(Source: http://themostlyconfusedteenager.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/what-to-do-when-confronted-with-an-awkward-social-situation/)

Paper Heroes Location 2

Paper Heroes Location 2 (Photo credit: roadkillbuddha)

How could I get out of this ugly situation? Call my friend Spock and just beam me up, Scotty, why don’t you answer your phone, damn? I decided to switch into vegetable mode and to activate my inner mental super hero powers. I look at myself scripting my super hero movie…

DSCF6102

DSCF6102 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Why haven’t I made up my mind, is it because I had foolishly voted for this President? Laughing at himself, he quickly realized the folly of his thoughts, for there are no politicians worthy of a vote. The entire political system is a farce where all political parties are owned by the money cartels for Globalization. […]

Loud sirens of military police jeeps sped past the buses.
The buses all pulled over to the side of the road as more military police jeeps sped past.

(Source: http://ronmamita.wordpress.com/2013/07/27/ourstory-collections-of/)

Blnguyen sleep

Blnguyen sleep (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I wake up, people have stopped staring at me, finally. The camera’s lense has turned away and I take my Curious George slowly to the bus station. By the way, thinking that taking the bus is easy? Nevermind, that’s what I thought at your mastery level, too…

First, make sure you have paid the bus fare or you will be woken up just when you thought you were reaching seventh heaven. Second piece of advice, CLOSE THE WINDOW before you go to sleep. This comes highly recommended. Let me explain why. Not everyone will be conscious about others well being and traveling by public transport it’s a whole new lesson. So there are people traveling with upset stomachs and too-much-crowded-and-packed-Phobia (Claustrophobia), and these people definitely vomit the whole package half way through the journey. Now if your window was open and you will be sleeping resting your face right there and it so happens the guy in front of you vomits through the window (Tadaaa…vomit Facial)

(Source: http://learnlearnblog.wordpress.com/2013/07/30/7-important-lessons-to-learn-from-a-sri-lankan-bus-ride/)

Pool Party

Pool Party (Photo credit: philipp daun)

I finally get home but my friends are calling me out for a party, I don’t know if I really want to go there. I decide to check out the party on the internet and search for some hints how to enjoy a party. I find a knowledge bowl and drink a cold punch of it, saying to myself…

DJ Enmascarado

DJ Enmascarado (Photo credit: Astro-now)

First, stop stressing. Parties are meant to be a good time. You shouldn’t ‘try to have fun’ but look forward to it. Second, drinking is an issue only if everyone else is drunk. Drinking and being drunk are too different things. Drinking is social for many. There is no intent to get hammered, just to basically have something in hand. If you are going to a toga party, I suggest skipping (unless you are the designated driver, in which, case, bring your cell phone and download plenty of games). If you dance, stay near or on the dance floor. If you see a friend, say hi and perhaps request they introduce you around. Parties are generally full of people in grand moods, looking to escape and dance the night away. Relax, participate, enjoy and be safe. If you aren’t having any fun, there are NO rules on staying.

(Source: http://thepublicblogger.com/2013/07/25/the-knowledge-bowl-when-a-man-loves-a-woman-a-scream-in-the-dark-a-black-man-believes-the-hype-a-kid-saves-a-rambling-drunk/)

I think yeah man, that’s the way I want to do it, I cut off the half of my Curious George shirt, take a funny picture of myself, print it onto another t-shirt and ask my friends where we want to meet. Maybe we check out this great DJ in downtown, he is famous for remixing relationships…

16 thoughts on “Remixing Relationships Vol. I

  1. This post really is creative! It’s a great way to help out fellow bloggers and create something pretty unique. As always, thanks for the ideas! I may have to give this one a try someday! 🙂
    Keep up the great work!

    • Hey there,
      thank you very much. Please let me know once you post it so I can make sure to check it out. Would love to see more relationship remixes out there 🙂 Could even think of a contest 😉
      Have a great day,
      Chris
      P.S.: You’re welcome, as always 🙂

  2. I went back and reread this slowly, out loud. It is absolutely brilliant. The work it must have taken to connect the dots the way did is extraordinary. Wow, Christopher, this one has left me in awe. Thank you for connecting with via writing with your other friends. So glad we are friends.

    • Sorry if I may disappoint you by saying so but this piece of work was created in one nice flow of creativity born in the sense of doing something meaningful. I think that’s the art with art… you feel easy because it (at least seems to be) is easy but beautiful.
      If you want to try it out for yourself, here is more or less the steps I did:
      – choose some of your favorite posts of your friends and try to have them thematically related, e.g. bus to bus and camera to people staring.
      – post the short passages with the sources into your post and do the formatting
      – read it out loud and look for passages that need to be interwoven by your own thoughts.
      – insert images that relate to a paragraph below to create a forward connection of the paragraphs.
      – enjoy reading and posting 🙂
      Would be glad to read one similar post of you, too! What do you think?

        • Well you should know that I am an applied computer scientist so if there is an algorithm I can describe it 🙂 and I don’t think I have met anybody like you before 😉 so do you want to try remixing relationships in your neighborhood?

    • thank you very much, glad you like the idea 🙂 I will try to post another volume from time to time. Funny thing is that I already recognized relationships between people that stop by my blog, so I sometimes get the impression that I almost know everybody more or less 😉

    • Thank you very much 🙂 Glad to hear 😉 I just had a brief brainstorming how I could showcase my friends’ posts I like and I thought a simple blog review would be kind of boring 🙂 Maybe you want to try something similar?

        • wow you are doing really great then 🙂 I’ve been blogging for about a year now (at least I think so) but stopped for some time after my first start was kind of frustrating. but now doing better with blogging about a broader range of topics and checking out great people’s blogs like yours 😉

Become a brave one - leave a comment

