Back From Paris

Howdy folks,

This image was selected as a picture of the we...

This image was selected as a picture of the week on the Malay Wikipedia for the 6th week, 2010. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m back from my short trip to my Paris-based friend Noemie. Arrived at her place Monday evening and left Thursday morning for those of you who care about the details. Those days, I visited the Louvre (Sully), went to the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, Champs Elysée, Sacré-Coeur (make sure to turn around and enjoy the amazing sight over the city) and walked quite a lot through the city. Had nice evenings with lots of talk and laughter with her and her friends. So much for the “touristic” part of this post, now I want to share two songs with you, I will provide you with the english translation below as they are a kind of English-Spanish-French-Mix.

First one I wrote waiting at Paris Est for her friend who took me to her place:

A+ amigo (Original)

The Arc de Triomphe (Arch of Triumph), at the ...

The Arc de Triomphe (Arch of Triumph), at the center of the place Charles de Gaulle, Paris. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

J’at|tends j’attends j’at|tends
Au | moins je sais pour|quoi
j’attends J’at|tends j’attends J’es|père que tu n’es plus
| loin On fait la | queue mais je sais que
ç’ ira | mieux aussitôt que tu |soit
arri|vée |

On est gen|til mais tout ça coûte | cher
Je demande la sor|tie et donne la monnaie d’hier a quelqu’|un qui sait pas où il va dormir
cette | nuit | | |

Nunca | sabes donde | andas
Nunca | sabes que ja|mais
That you’ll |never beg for | money
That you’ll | never lose your | home
Can we | help them? Can we | feed them?
Doesn’t | matter if we | all | try | | |

Donc i’m | waiting i’m still | waiting
but I | hope you’ll be here | soon
Watching the | people all the | people
dis | moi dis moi dis moi t’es | où?

Nunca | sabes donde | andas
Nunca | sabes que ja|mais
That you’ll |never beg for | money
That you’ll | never lose your | home
Can we | help them? Can we | feed them?
Doesn’t | matter if we | all | try | | |

You | text me to tell me you’re | here in a while
I | hope you will find me ça | fait long time that
we | met but you’re still on my | mind | |

Nunca | sabes donde | andas
Nunca | sabes que ja|mais
That you’ll |never beg for | money
That you’ll | never lose your | home
Can we | help them? Can we | feed them?
Doesn’t | matter if we | all | try | | |
Always | know that I will | be there
| anywhere you | go
Always | know that I will | watch you
| every step you | take
I’ll take | care of I’ll take | care of
a|+ ami| -i-|go

Sacre Coeur

Sacre Coeur (Photo credit: jotpeh)

A+ amigo (Quickly translated English version)

I wait I wait I wait
At least I know why I do
I wait I wait I wait I hope that you’re not that
far away anymore, I queue up at the ticket office but I know that
it will be better as soon as you will be arrived

People are kind but this all costs quite much
I ask for the exit and give yesterday’s change to somebody who doesn’t know where he will sleep
this night

You never know where you go
You never know that never
That you’ll never beg for money
That you’ll  never lose your home
Can we help them? Can we feed them?
Doesn’t matter if we all try

So i’m waiting i’m still waiting
but I hope you’ll be here soon
Watching the people all the people
Tell me tell me tell me where are you?

You never know where you go
You never know that never
That you’ll never beg for money
That you’ll  never lose your home
Can we help them? Can we feed them?
Doesn’t matter if we all try

You text me to tell me you’re here in a while
I hope you will find me it’s been a long time since
we met but you’re still on my mind

You never know where you go
You never know that never
That you’ll never beg for money
That you’ll  never lose your home
Can we help them? Can we feed them?
Doesn’t matter if we all try
Always know that I will be there
anywhere you go
Always know that I will watch you
every step you take
I’ll take care of I’ll take care of
See you later, my friend

And the second one I wrote on the TGV (train) home to Karlsruhe:

English: Courtyard of the Louvre Museum, with ...

English: Courtyard of the Louvre Museum, with the Pyramid Français : La Cour Napoléon du Palais du Louvre, avec la Pyramide (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Pretty woman (I’m coming home) (Original)

i’m coming | home i’m coming | home leaving | France leaving | friends
i’m coming | home i’m coming | home hope we’ll | soon meet a- | gain

T’as du travail|ler mais c’est comme ça c’est la | vie
on a fait tour eif|fel même si tu connais pas trop pa|ris
Tu vois on a passé un temp | trop de ouf j’ai même visit|é un peu du Louvr’-
| et à la pro|chaine

i’m coming | home i’m coming | home leaving | France leaving | friends
i’m coming | home i’m coming | home hope we’ll | soon meet a- | gain

On mangeait des bon | crêpes on faisait bien la | fête
t’es partie travail|ler et après tu te cassais la | tête
mais en fait tu | sais que tu es parfaite pretty | woman
on chantait ce ma|tin et puis on est parti pour le | train

i’m coming | home i’m coming | home leaving | France leaving | friends
i’m coming | home i’m coming | home hope we’ll | soon meet a- | gain
Pretty | woman c’est à toi de me rendre vi|site
Pretty |woman viens chez moi très |vite
Pretty | woman merci pour être comme | ça
thank you for being | just the way you | are

Champs Elysées

Champs Elysées (Photo credit: x4rop)

Pretty woman (I’m coming home) (Quickly translated English version)

i’m coming home i’m coming home leaving France leaving friends
i’m coming home i’m coming home hope we’ll soon meet again

You’ve had to go working but that’s the way, that’s life
We’ve visited the Eiffel Tower even if you didn’t know Paris that much
You see we have spent a very great time, I’ve even visited a bit the Louvre
And see you soon

i’m coming home i’m coming home leaving France leaving friends
i’m coming home i’m coming home hope we’ll soon meet again

We ate good crêpes, we partied well
You left for work and afterwards you almost got a headache thinking about something
But after all you know you’re perfect, pretty woman
we sang this morning and then we left for the train

i’m coming home i’m coming home leaving France leaving friends
i’m coming home i’m coming home hope we’ll soon meet again
Pretty woman, it’s up to you to visit me
Pretty woman, hope you’ll visit me soon
Pretty woman, thank you for being like this
thank you for being just the way you are

… hope you liked it, thank you very much for reading, feedback and likes appreciated!

15 thoughts on “Back From Paris

  1. Hello Chris!
    It sounds like you had a wonderful time with your friend 🙂 I’m jealous that you got to see Paris. I do enjoy history and art.
    The songs are beautiful and sincere. “Pretty Woman” is lovely, just like a story. It seems you have a special friend in Noemie. I wish someone would write a song like that about me 😉
    I hope all is well! Nothing new here really.
    Best
    megan

    • Hello Megan,
      No need to be jealous, I’m sure you can go there one day, too 🙂
      Thank you very much for your compliments! And you’re right, we are very good friends even if there is (physical) distance between us most of the time.
      All is well, thanks 🙂 How are you going to spend your weekend?
      Have a great time,
      Chris

  2. I love the fluid change between languages throughout your songs! Very sweet. I am wondering what the song sounds like when you sing it. Do you have SoundCloud and a microphone? 🙂

  3. Pingback: Parents Dialogue #1 | On the light side of gamification

Become a brave one - leave a comment

