A Sketch Of The Face Of Happiness (Part I)

Howdy folks,

I'm on my way to happiness. Wanna join me?

I’m on my way to happiness. Wanna join me?

as two of my friends, Linda and Michelle, already answered my key questions to happiness and I hope many of you may follow I made two decisions:

  • Whenever 3 persons answered my key questions to happiness I will post another sketch of the face of happiness summing up their answers and adding them up to the already existing sketch of the face of happiness. This way I want to draw an image of how happiness can look like and what are the ways to achieve it (hope it will show that one can achieve happiness whatever and whenever someone does something, as long as he/she loves to do it).
  • I will award everyone that answers my key questions to happiness and lets me know about it with an “On my way to happiness” award with the following conditions:
    1. Post your answers to my key questions to happiness on your blog.
    2. Post the award’s logo on your blog with a link to your post in which you answer my key questions to happiness.
    3. Tell your followers about your way to happiness and let me know whenever someone of your followers answers my key questions to happiness.

So now here are my key questions and Linda’s, Michelle’s and my answers, I recommend you to listen to “Mozart – Piano Concerto No. 23 in A, K. 488 [complete]” (click play below) like Michelle did while answering the questions and I did so while reading her answers.

Questions and answers CD2

Questions and answers CD2 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

1. What are my personal aims?

Linda:

To gain a following on Youtube, learn to meditate

Michelle:

My personal aim at the moment is to find a good balance in my life so that I give as much to myself as I do everyone else. Therefore I will be happier, less stressed and accomplish more of the things that are important to my me and my well-being! I would like to be more active, take care of our money better and finish something that I started years ago that is very dear to my heart.

Chris:

  • being able to perform frequently as a singer with a band

  • writing songs for your soul

  • supporting my loved ones as well as my friends

  • changing the world for the better, beginning with me

  • working on my personal projects, e.g. my favorite future fashion store

  • Owning and running a farm with my love

  • Staying abroad every three years for six months, at least three times in my life

  • Having children one day

  • Succeeding at and enjoying work

An emoticon with a smile. For more emoticons i...

An emoticon with a smile. For more emoticons in Wikipedia, see Wikipedia:Emoticons. 32px|alt=W3C|link=http://validator.w3.org/✓ The source code of this SVG is valid. Category:Valid SVG (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

2. What are things that I like to do?

Linda:

Make people laugh, help people and write

Michelle:

I love to spend quality time with my family, read and write and invest time in the relationships that bring me joy.

Chris:

  • singing

  • communicating

  • thinking

  • having visions and breaking them down to reality

  • supporting/mentoring people

  • writing lyrics

  • exercising with my band

  • having singing lessons with my great singing teacher

  • sparetime activities with my love and/or friends

  • blogging (both communicating and writing)

  • analyzing and solving problems

Crop of Happy face ball.jpg

Crop of Happy face ball.jpg (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

3. What are things that I don’t like to do?

Linda:

Make small talk it’s inane, why can’t people talk about more interesting things, like the news, not, what’s trending now, or who should win American Idol (UGH) or Dancing with the Stars (ICK).

Michelle:

I do not like to put the laundry away, wash floors, pick up after my kids constantly and I don’t like to tire myself out getting stressed about these things. I also dislike driving in roundabouts (rotaries, traffic circles) which makes driving certain places a challenge because they intimidate me and I will avoid them whenever possible!

Chris:

  • most of the housework so I try to automate it wherever it is possible

  • repetive tasks (except for exercising)

  • eating bad because alternatives are harder to reach or even worse

  • working in a known to be suboptimal way and continuing to work that way

Happiness

Happiness (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

4. What am I good at?

Linda:

I’m one hell of an ex-executive assistant.  I was good before I lost my mind (lol).  I’m also sort of funny and I will continue to improve on my comedy skills.

Michelle:

I am good at writing (I believe) I find being honest very freeing. I am also good at supporting people and things I care about and putting people at ease in stressful situations.

Chris:

  • singing

  • writing

  • communicating

  • analyzing problems

  • solving problems

  • supporting people

  • running my blog (I am still learning but never thought I could met that much wonderful people out here)

Happy Tomatos

Happy Tomatos (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

5. What am I bad at and do I want to change something about it?

Linda:

Speaking up for myself, taking the blame.

Michelle:

I am bad at keeping promises I make to myself due to my terrible time management and I am making efforts to change! I am also bad at hole punching which my former boss and friend likes to remind me. I have no desire to change this because I never desired to me a master hole puncher and every time she punches a hole in a piece of paper she will think of me fondly.

Chris:

  • housework (I am slow and I don’t like to do it so I want to automate it, my birthday wish is a dishwasher)

  • drawing (it is enough for sketches to explain something to somebody, so I might not change it for some time)

  • recognizing vip faces on TV (it is actually fun, so I can live with it)

  • staying serious (sometimes I overdo it with comedy, working on this one)

  • working because I have to (I want to reduce the “have to” work to a minimum, so I will stay with my “I don’t like it, I only do it for the deadline or for not having to worry about it anymore” attitude)

  • if you recognize anything I could be bad at, please let me know so I can decide if I want to change it. Thanks!

Happy Baby! I can't help but smile every time ...

Happy Baby! I can’t help but smile every time I look at this picture. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

6. When do I feel happy?

Linda:

Snuggling with my dog.

Michelle:

I feel happy most of the time but mostly when I have fulfilled my commitments and everyone around me is pleased and happy.

Chris:

  • when I sing

  • when I support/mentor someone

  • when I work on something that means much to me, e.g. on my own projects

  • when I communicate with people I like

  • when I get great feedback and feel connected to someone

  • when things are doing great with my love

  • when I solved a problem

  • when I eat something tasty (even better if it is healthy, too)

A Little Happiness

A Little Happiness (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

7. What is it then that makes me feel happy?

Linda:

Someone warm and adoring to cuddle, who wants nothing more from me than my love.

Michelle:

Being present in my life, managing the details so that everything gets done and my family is satisfied and I am content. Spending time with family, friends and writing!

Chris:

  • for singing it is the harmony of my body, the rhythm and my words reaching out for the audience which gives me a feeling of control and power and meaningfulness

  • for supporting/mentoring someone, it is the feeling that I make a difference and make a life better/show someone how to change his/her life for the better and support him/her doing so

  • for working on something that means much to me, it is the feeling that I am pursuing my dreams and that I could make a difference

  • for communicating, it is the learning, the thinking, the supporting and the emotions and relations which change and mostly improve dynamically and make it exciting and meaningful

  • for getting great feedback, it is recognition and the connection even reinforces this recognition and gets me into support/mentor mode

  • for my love, it is the love and the mutually pursuing of our dreams

  • for having solved a problem, it is the feeling of making a difference and of “fiero

  • for eating well it is the feeling that I have done something I have to in the most enjoyable way

Cropped screenshot of Audrey Hepburn from the ...

Cropped screenshot of Audrey Hepburn from the trailer for the film Roman Holiday. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

8. Is there any chance to trigger the reason for that happiness more often (e.g. by changing your workplace, join your working place community (or found it) or invest more time in a particular spare time activity)?

Linda:

Snuggle with a family member, or at least bond, meet people.

Michelle:

There is definitely a chance for me to be happier more. I need to be accountable to myself, keeping promises I make to me, managing my time better so that I get to do all the things I want to do and saying no to things that I do not have the time to take on. Being productive makes me very happy but I often let my noisy brain slow me down. I often plan too many things at once resulting in me getting emotionally tired!

Chris:

  • I want to change my working position to a kind of mentor/problem manager and teambuilder for at least 20% of my work time by October 2013 (I then have finished my studies and begin to “really” work (before there were only the working phases of my cooperative studies).

  • I want to continually manage my available time to be able to sing, to communicate/to blog, to meet with friends, to work on my projects and to spend great time with my wonderful love.

  • I want to continually analyze when I feel unhappy or unsatisfied and try to change these situations.

Bring Back My Happiness

Bring Back My Happiness (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

9. When do I wish to change something and why do I think this change is impossible instead of trying to go for the change?

Linda:

Negative thinking, self defeating talk, you can find a number of excuses not to do something.  Finding the strength to change is a lot harder than I thought.  Old habits die hard.

Michelle:

I don’t think anything is impossible. The word itself says “I’m Possible”, Audrey Hepburn Quote. As I said above I am my biggest roadblock. I need to hold myself accountable for making the necessary changes to make all the pieces of my life fit together like a completed puzzle. I have made some steps, the biggest one was quitting my job 15 months ago but there are other changes that I need to make. I am fully aware that nobody is responsible for my happiness but me!

Chris:

I never think of change as impossible, I divide it only into “change now, required ressources and opportunities as well as the importance for change do exist” and “change later if it is still necessary then”.

We all live with the objective of being happy,...

We all live with the objective of being happy, our lives are all different and yet the same ———- Anne Frank (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

10. When do I blame others and could I not do something about solving the problem myself if it is that important to me?

Linda:

If something is important to me, or needs to be done “my way”, I do it.  In fact, I usually do everything.  I need to stop doing that.  Things don’t have to always be done your way.  As long as they are helping me.

Michelle:

I try not to blame others for my problems except if they are not contributing their share, therefore making my job more difficult. I have high expectations and I feel a responsibly towards things (for e.g. my volunteer work) I think this is a weakness for me because I sometimes bite off more than I should be comfortably chewing and inevitably my “time management” goes out the window.

Chris:

Whenever I catch myself blaming others, I think about this question and whenever I catch someone blaming others, I ask him/her this question (normally in a more subtle way so that I lead him/her to the answer without having asked this question).

I'm on my way to happiness. Wanna join me?

I’m on my way to happiness. Wanna join me?

These were Linda, Michelle and me answering my key questions to happiness. We are on our way to happiness. If you want to join us, here are the ten questions:

1. What are my personal aims?

2. What are things that I like to do?

3. What are things that I don’t like to do?

4. What am I good at?

5. What am I bad at and do I want to change something about it?

6. When do I feel happy?

7. What is it then that makes me feel happy?

8. Is there any chance to trigger the reason for that happiness more often (e.g. by changing your workplace, join your working place community (or found it) or invest more time in a particular spare time activity)?

9. When do I wish to change something and why do I think this change is impossible instead of trying to go for the change?

10. When do I blame others and could I not do something about solving the problem myself if it is that important to me?

Thank you very much for reading, if you decide to answer these questions please share your answers with me.

Thank you for being here.

Yours sincerely,

Chris

P.S.: You can find more posts of the Sketch Of The Face Of Happiness series here.

40 thoughts on “A Sketch Of The Face Of Happiness (Part I)

  1. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – (St)Art(ing) Sunday – Day 28 | On the light side of gamification

  2. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Social Saturday – Day 27 | On the light side of gamification

  3. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Physical Friday – Day 26 | On the light side of gamification

  4. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Thumbs Up Thursday – Day 25 | On the light side of gamification

  5. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Worried Wednesday – Day 24 | On the light side of gamification

  6. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Thinking Tuesday – Day 23 | On the light side of gamification

  7. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Material Monday – Day 22 | On the light side of gamification

  8. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 22 | On the light side of gamification

  9. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 21 | On the light side of gamification

  10. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 20 | On the light side of gamification

  11. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 19 | On the light side of gamification

  12. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 18 | On the light side of gamification

  13. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 17 | On the light side of gamification

  14. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 16 | On the light side of gamification

  15. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 15 | On the light side of gamification

  16. Hi Chris! Great post and even greater idea – to share what makes you and your readers happy. Here are my answers:

    1. To take control of my life, get to know myself more, become more confident and decisive, to continue appreciating what I have and striving for more, to keep writing with passion and to help others with that by inspiring and motivating them.
    2. I like many activities and am always open to try new ones. But the only thing that I can call my passion – that makes time stop while I’m doing it – is writing.
    3. Things I’m supposed to do, obligatory tasks – even if I make myself do them, it will be without any willingness, energy and in a bad mood so the end result would be terrible.
    4. I guess I’m only good at something if I do it with passion, if I have the right motivation for it and when I know it’s worth it.
    5. I’m bad at dieting, orientation, team work… and a few more things but that is what I can think of right now.
    6. I believe everyone can feel happy at every moment, regardless of the environment, mood, people, etc. if he is peaceful and knows how to live in the moment. I’m working on that. But I can say I feel happier around positive people, when I write, when I’m inspired and motivated.
    7. Seeing other people’s happiness, seeing the good in people that are considered bad, finding the beauty in details from everyday life, beautiful nature, and many more things.
    8. In my opinion happiness is not about where you are, what you have, how you look and sometimes even who you are with. It’s all about you – how you feel about yourself , your connection with the universe and whether you’ve found the balance, simplicity, beauty and peace. Once you achieve that, you’ll be able to feel happy at any place and time.
    9. Every change is possible, I guess. Some time ago I would have said that I regret some things I had done and said, but now I’m really trying to let go of all regrets, fears and doubts and I think it works. So I don’t want to change anything. I appreciate my life, even the past, just the way it is and am absolutely sure it will only become better in every aspect!
    10. That’s another thing I’ve worked on. It was really hard but I learnt how to take responsibility of my own actions and decisions. Sometimes there is still a little voice in my head that tries to blame someone but I hear it very rarely.

    • Hey Lidiya,
      thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions and for sharing your impressive answers here. I’d say you are doing great on your way to happiness, what do you think? 🙂
      Have a great day, very nice to meet you!
      Chris

  17. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 14 | On the light side of gamification

  18. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 13 | On the light side of gamification

  19. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 12 | On the light side of gamification

  20. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 11 | On the light side of gamification

  21. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 10 | On the light side of gamification

  22. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 09 | On the light side of gamification

  23. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 08 | On the light side of gamification

  24. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 07 | On the light side of gamification

  25. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 06 | On the light side of gamification

  26. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 05 | On the light side of gamification

  27. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 04 | On the light side of gamification

  28. Pingback: Cuppa Tea with Trenton Babbage | Wildersoul Colouring Book

  29. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 03 | On the light side of gamification

  30. Pingback: Life Questions Part II – On My Way to Happiness | The Gap Year Challenge

  31. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 02 | On the light side of gamification

  32. Pingback: A Sketch Of The Face Of Happiness (Part II) | On the light side of gamification

  33. Pingback: Remember Happiness Today – Day 01 | On the light side of gamification

  34. Pingback: Happy Birthday! | On the light side of gamification

  35. Pingback: Key questions to happiness | mylifeisexactlythesameaseveryoneelses

  36. Ok Chris, here is my stab at happiness:

    1. What are my personal aims? I aim to sow love and kindness by helping others realize just how much God loves them; and that choices in life are ours to own. I aim to be a loving wife and step mom someday soon. God is still working on him 😀
    2. What are things that I like to do? I like to write, read and play Candy Crush Saga. 😜 I like encouraging others to roll with life challenges because challenges help us grow and are temporary.
    3. What are things that I don’t like to do? I don’t like chores. I can always put them off for another day.
    4. What am I good at? I am good at seeing things from a different perspective–seeing the good in most situations and people. I am good at expressing myself and bringing a smile to someone’s face.
    5. What am I bad at and do I want to change something about it? I am bad at calculating percentages. Ugh. Yes, I would like to be able to calculate them easier.
    6. When do I feel happy? I am spirit led and usually can maintain happy regularly. Sometimes, I have to faith it through a challenging moment. Praising God helps me stay happy.
    7. What is it then that makes me feel happy? Everyday that God wakes me up makes me happy and blessed. Happy is knowing who you are!
    8. Is there any chance to trigger the reason for that happiness more often (e.g. by changing your workplace, join your working place community (or found it) or invest more time in a particular spare time activity)? I stay prayed up and walking by faith daily!
    9. When do I wish to change something and why do I think this change is impossible instead of trying to go for the change? Change is a daily thing. Each day we have the opportunity to become better and more loving individuals. Life is a process!
    10. When do I blame others and could I not do something about solving the problem myself if it is that important to me? As we grow and mature, we have to take responsibility for our own stuff. Blaming others serve no real purpose except delaying the truth that we make choices sometimes that are not good for us.

    This was fun! 😜 Thanks Chris and God bless you!

    • Hey Ann,
      sorry for the late reply. But the more I want to thank you for answering my questions! I love reading you are a positive woman with a lot of faith and love of and for God.
      Have a great day,
      Chris
      P.S.: Glad we met 🙂

Become a brave one - leave a comment

