When Will I Feel Bad Enough To Change All My Money Into Rubels To Buy Me New Clothing And A Toothbrush?

Howdy folks,

The Ballroom of Korston Hotel, Kasan just before the opening of ICL

The Ballroom of Korston Hotel, Kasan just before the opening of ICL

Today it is the first day of ICL conference in Kasan, Russia. The opening in the morning was quite boring and right now, I am feeling quite deceived. No inspiration, no enlightenings, nothing but lost luggage so far. Am I asking for too much?

I don’t know, maybe I do. But well, I still have hope left for some great talks in the paper sessions starting in one hour. And I will ask for my lost luggage again at the reception tonight. Maybe dinner will bring some cool people and nice talks?

So far I’ve learned that I am impolite when I am talking to a Japanese older man (at least that’s what he thought but he was too polite to tell me, he might just have thought “Thanks to god that I teach in Japan”). And that my Russian isn’t good enough (I’ve only learned three words so far: “Da – yes. Njet – no. Spaziba – thank you”. The writing might differ…) to enjoy having a coffee break at a table where only one of six people can speak some English. But luckily, there was Vladimir who remembered some German sentences from school and made a bit of small talk with me answering most of my questions in Russian so I don’t know that much about him now. But Spaziba anyway, Vladimir!

After deciding that the second plenary session was wasted time, too, I went for some shopping (after the receptionist told me she hadn’t seen my luggage so far) but I rather took some pictures of the building than to buy something. Still hoping for my luggage to arrive soon. So far for now, will leave for the paper sessions soon. Enjoy the few images of the shopping mall attached to the hotel and stay tuned, my friends.

The upper level of Korston Shopping Mall attached to the hotel, Kasan

The upper level of Korston Shopping Mall attached to the hotel, Kasan

The basement of Korston Shopping Mall attached to the hotel, Kasan

The basement of Korston Shopping Mall attached to the hotel, Kasan

May peace surround you and be happiness your friend, even if you don’t know what to wear tomorrow without feeling skunkish.

Yours sincerely,

Chris

Become a brave one - leave a comment

