Vasili, Vodka And V-Necks (Yes, Sir! I’ve Got My Luggage Back!)

Howdy folks,

It rained yesterday in the morning in Kasan

It rained yesterday in the morning in Kasan

well yesterday was quite a long day so please don’t mind that my post is a bit longer than the last updates. What was the schedule for yesterday?

  • Opening and plenary sessions in the morning (mostly waste of time)
  • Some presentations in the afternoon (two nice ones even if the speakers were really poor at English language skill level so there was almost no possibility to ask questions and give feedback they understood)
  • A big dinner in the evening in the “Ballroom Hall”

So what do I’ve got for you, my friends?

  • Status update on lost luggage
  • Pictures from my short walk out after almost 48h under air-conditioning
  • Pictures from the dinner
  • My first Russian exam (and my first video, maybe you want to watch it but don’t worry, you can continue reading now and will come to the embedded Youtube video later)
  • I think that’s it, we’ll see…

For my luggage, I went to the reception yesterday in the early afternoon but the airport had not called yet. I was quite unhappy but then, two colleagues offered me to borrow me their clothing for today which made me quite happy to know such nice colleagues. Before the dinner, I went to the reception again and they told me that the airport has called and found my luggage but was too busy to deliver it at the hotel. The receptionist offered me to get my luggage into my room for 1400 rubles (about 30 €) and as I did not know how long the airport would take and buying new stuff was even more expensive, I changed some bucks into rubles and went for it. Now I am reunited with my luggage – I will never call you black heavy stupid thing again, sweetheart, you are so kind to open your mind and show me these beautiful cosmetics and clothing you carry in it – wow and woooooooooohoooooooooooo!).

Afterwards, as the dinner was postponed for a hour, I took a walk out with a colleague. Just let the images speak, I tried to write in the captions the things I know or do believe – no guarantee. But at least I can tell you that the roads in Kasan are in a far better state than the ones in Germany – shame on you Germania!

Some statue in Kasan

Some statue in Kasan

Could be the opera of Kasan

Could be the opera of Kasan

Could be the town hall of Kasan

Could be the town hall of Kasan

The Dream Café - whatever this is it sounds like a cool place

The Dream Café – whatever this is it sounds like a cool place

On my way back to the Korston hotel in Kasan

On my way back to the Korston hotel in Kasan

I passed a door I think it could have been nice to be able to read the sign

I passed a door I think it could have been nice to be able to read the sign

Well, this was like I imagined Russia before my trip - shame on me and shame on Western education for brainwash us not to look at beautiful Russia

Well, this was like I imagined Russia before my trip – shame on me and shame on Western education for brainwash us not to look at beautiful Russia

The dinner table between the parts of the meal

The dinner table between the parts of the meal

We arrived just before the dinner and there was quite a lot of live music (I included one short video below but turn down the volume before please, it is quite loud) of different genres, from Jazz over traditional to classic (Four seasons by Vivaldi). There was a huge amount to eat (the image only shows the table between two parts of the meal!).

Vasili's thumb and his vodka

Vasili’s thumb and his vodka

And there were some Russians with almost no English language skills to make friends with us (I guess they found us quite funny). And how do you do this here in Russia? I think with some nice vodka… A russian man called Vasili collected many bottles and began to talk to me using some german words (I’ll translate them right now) like “Good good, drink” or “My german friend, drink” and so on and well…

That's the Russian sign for bathroom for men - running or dancing?

That’s the Russian sign for bathroom for men – running or dancing?

I didn’t vomit even if I could have been an option after advancing too much with the two glass of water for one glass of vodka thing – drinking six glasses of water without any vodka is a bad idea – I felt so sick for a few minutes. But after I felt better, I was invited to join the dance and I did (or I tried) without earning any remarks but a frequent “To my german friend, drink”.

After this cheerful evening, I decided to learn some Russian and attached my first Russian (self made) exam below.

Thank you very much for reading, comments and likes are appreciated as always. Na zdorove!

Yours sincerely,

Chris

2 thoughts on “Vasili, Vodka And V-Necks (Yes, Sir! I’ve Got My Luggage Back!)

Become a brave one - leave a comment

