New Directions To Head For – Watch Your Step, Staying Abroad Could Change Your World

Howdy folks,

sorry for today’s short and probably quite unstructured post but I just felt like having to write some thoughts down.

What have I learned at the ICL Conference in Kasan and what are the consequences for me?

  • Conference Dinner, Ballroom Hall, Kasan, Russia

    Conference Dinner, Ballroom Hall, Kasan, Russia

    There were really cool people and I loved this “attend to session – ask questions – get thinking – maybe collaborate or publish” thingy which felt like putting my brain into a rocket to the stars. Of course, I was always the one who asked at least one question after almost every presentation as I tried to attend only to presentations I was interested in.

  • Me right before leaving the Korston Hotel, Kasan, for the airport

    Me right before leaving the Korston Hotel, Kasan, for the airport

    I really liked to present my work and had the great luxury not to have to care about time but being allowed to fill a 30+ minutes timeslot in a 90 minutes session with a 15 minutes awarding ceremony and a 22 minutes video. So rather 30+++ minutes for me… Plus, I really got very positive feedback and realized I want to become a keynote speaker as soon as possible. I mean you can tell what you want to, get payed for talking and get free conference participation and accommodation. That’s amazing, isn’t it?

  • I am still suffering from my rocket brain which means that I am currently working on three papers, each for another conference. Could take me to Barcelona, Istanbul and New York. What will be next?
  • There was an American woman at the conference giving a presentation and telling us that Qatar is like Disneyland for education. I want to go there as soon as I’ve got my PhD. Wait, PhD, sorry, could you repeat that please?
  • Announcement of one presentation that I really enjoyed and that gave me a great bunch of inspiration

    Announcement of one presentation that I really enjoyed and that gave me a great bunch of inspiration

    Yes, I can. At the conference, my lecturer began getting on my nerves telling me I should get a PhD with some research on MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses, huge thing in education these days). To get her “shut up”, I wrote a mail to send to Stanford Graduate School of Education for research possibilities in the field of MOOCs. I already have some ideas what research could be. Well, instead of sending it to Stanford, I sent it to my lecturer for getting her feedback. Looking forward to it and I’m quite sure that together, we will work out a way how to get me a PhD. Plus, as a PhD student, conference participation would often be much cheaper.

  • You see, I am having quite a busy (crazy?) time but I realized that I want to have it this way. No work, no progress. No progress, no good…
  • Sunshine in Germany - went for a walk yesterday

    Sunshine in Germany – went for a walk yesterday

    One last thing: I really want to learn Russian. Recommendations for good free online learning tools are welcome (already got some but you might know even better ones).

So this is my “everything changed in five minutes” post, hope you enjoyed reading. Comments and Likes are welcome, as always.

May peace surround you and happiness be your friend.

Chris

P.S.: Do you like my new blog theme? Had to change the old one because of it poor comment nesting display functions (comments got hidden by the widgets).

2 thoughts on “New Directions To Head For – Watch Your Step, Staying Abroad Could Change Your World

Become a brave one - leave a comment

