Starting Tomorrow – My Year Without Alcohol

Howdy folks,

Deutsch: "Kopfschmerzen". Die wohl b...

Deutsch: “Kopfschmerzen”. Die wohl berühmteste – stark von James Gillray beeinflußte – Arbeit in einer Reihe von sechs Blättern “medizinischer” Karikaturen, in denen Cruikshank Krankheiten als Teufelswerk brandmarkt. Erstmalig publiziert: 12. Februar 1819. Originalgröße: 210 x 255 mm (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hope you are all enjoying your Sunday, I hopefully will enjoy mine even more after having a nap. My headache might be gone then, wish me well… Which gets me to the reason I chose this title for today’s post: Yesterday I celebrated receiving my bachelor graduation document. After the official celebration, I went to have some drinks with friends and went to the disco afterwards. We had quite a nice evening but there were some moments I felt quite clumsy because of the alcohol and today, I’ve got a great headache. I think that I am a really extrovert guy so I would need no alcohol to enjoy myself at any party. This morning, I was wondering why I was drinking at every party knowing I did not need it. I realized I could start a year without alcohol. What do you think? What are your “drinking habits”? Do you enjoy drinking?

I shortly thought about adding a countdown to my blog (“days without alcohol left”) but this would sound as I want to drink again after one year. I don’t think so yet.

Have a great Sunday, thank you very much for reading.

May peace surround you and be happiness your friend.

Chris

23 thoughts on “Starting Tomorrow – My Year Without Alcohol

  1. So, 1/3 to go?

    And yes, I’ve just picked one random article to leave a comment. I’m such a super villain.
    Muhahaha

  2. Congratulations with your graduation.
    About the alcohol; the doctors here in Spain tell us, that wine for the food is medicin. I enjoy a glass of wine for my food sometimes, but have tried so much more. Of course you can live a year without alcohol, the question will be, what will you learn from that? It can also be a little difficult to party among other young people. Just mind how you can behave yourself, when drinking. Then you can find the other a little stupid.
    Good luck.
    Irene

  3. Congratulations on your graduation! As to drinking in celebration last night, we’ve all done it. Drank a bit too much, maybe acted unlike ourselves. The only reason I can see to quit alcohol is if you have a problem with control. It seems like you just had a good time, and there is an age where drinking is part of that. I still like a glass or two of wine. It makes me feel good. Add a joint and I’m relaxed and enjoying life. Whether you drink or not for a year is up to you, but I don’t think one night of excess should make you change. Promise yourself not to drink too much in the future, and you will be a perfectly normal young man.

    Thoughts of peace and friendship to you, my young friend.

    • Hey Linda,
      Thank you very much for your comment 🙂 I would not call it a problem of control because I can handle the amount of alcohol I drink quite well. But I tend to give as much a f*ck about what people think of me as the amount of alcohol I have consumed 😉

      • Ah, that’s the rub, isn’t it; the fear of what others might think of us. Luckily I am past the age of caring what others may say or think about me. I hope you learn something from your year without alcohol, if only to prove to others that you have no problem with it. It’s true that you can have just a good a time without it, so why drink? It makes a lot of sense. I’m just saying, everything in moderation and you’ll be ok (well, with the exception of some really awful drugs, like Crack–even a little of that would be a terrible thing).

        • I agree very much on your comment. I like your moderate thing with your exception for bad drugs but am agreeing even more to your I don’t need it so why consume it thing 🙂 will keep you posted on my learnings and experiences.
          Have a good start into the week my friend 🙂

  4. Congrats on getting your Bachelor’s documents. Alcohol is like sweets..don’t need to but want to when its available..Well..good luck! with your good bye to alcohol . I never drink any alcohol..so wouldn’t know how it feels..I do like tea, coffee, juices, coconut milk, normal milk and etc etc..

Become a brave one - leave a comment

