I Am Back – Am I Back?

Hello world,

how have you been?

Just came back here somehow feeling like doing so. Well, what’s new on my side of life?Image

  • I fell in love and I broke up – it was a short but intense time
  • I started studying to become a master degree and stopped studying – it was a short but not wasted time
  • I started to take some dancing lessons and I still enjoy it – it is a weekly delight often clearing my head full of thoughts
  • I am still singing and might perform for the first time since a very long time on stage soon
  • I read a lot of books and discovered a little interest for art and architecture, suggestions welcome on these issues!
  • I might have learned a lot about myself – want to share some thoughts with you right now…
  1. Asking the right questions
    If I don’t know enough about the things I am working on, I tend to try to puzzle things out myself. After some time without finding any working solution, I get frustrated and feel blocked. The way to get back on track: Asking the right questions – or at least asking a team mate for help. Only this way I can improve my knowledge and feel more confident about the work I do. Which leads me to…
  2. Finding the right attitude
    Some days, I tend to shut up and listen and listen and listen and wait, you get it but I didn’t understand the last thing you said but I just keep listening and lose track and you keep talking… This is not the right attitude, I can’t keep staying that passive because I risk to miss a lot of learning opportunities this way. So even if I’m feeling tired or in a bad mood, I need to ask questions if I don’t understand something someone is telling me and not let a monologue happen. I need to keep learning to…
  3. Keep on moving
    I’m 23 years old, been working for seven months now after finishing my studies and I still feel that I’m quite at the beginning of my working career and journey of life. I am getting a clue where I could head for but am still unsure how to get there. But step by step, I keep on moving. Facing challenges instead of suffering from problems – that’s the attitude, dude!

So much from my side of life for now, now it’s up to you:

  • What are the challenges you are currently facing?
  • What’s on your mind?
  • Which is the direction you’re heading for?

Wishing all of you a great time.

Chris

 

20 thoughts on “I Am Back – Am I Back?

  1. Welcome back! It so nice to see you again. It sounds like you have been though a lot, but a great way to get insight into your life. Excited to hear more about it.

    The challenges I am facing right now and what’s on my mind is teens. How can we give teens enough hope to hold on. To know that tomorrow can be better. There is so much depression and hurt out there. The direction I am heading for or we (Gabriella and I) is one day at a time, one teen at a time. You Matter. We Care.

    Again glad you are back. We missed you!

    • Hey Veronica,
      Thank you very much! Do you happen to know the book “7 Habits of Highly Effective People”? You might want to check it out on your amazing teen helping mission. As far as I know there is also a similar book available for teens but I haven’t read it yet.
      I think two things are very important to keep hope alive: 1) to know what you can do and do it and 2) to know there’s someone who cares and whom you can talk to if you don’t know how to solve a problem you’re facing on your way. I’m very glad you decided to provide teens with the second part, thank you! πŸ™‚
      P.S.: Tell my greetings to Gabriella, please.

      • Gabriella says hello and it’s great to have you back!

        Yes, I have heard of that book. I have read other books similar to that but I think I am going to get that one and read it.

        I agree with those two factors on keeping hope alive. Thank you so much! We are passionate about helping teens find hope!

  2. Welcome back! You always ask so many questions, it leads the attention away from you and over to your reader. A polite invitation, and thank you for that. It sounds like you hit a bump in your road, and that this helped you to move forward. Are you feeling okay?

    To answer your questions, I think that there’s a lot of challenges, if we just look for them. Sometimes the real challenge is to learn not to overspeculate and run the risk of spending all your (or my) attention on what could be improved or what could happen, but we’d wish it wouldn’t. Personally I’ve spent so much time in self development in my life that it at some point ended up being a mantra. The wish to be better. And in that also an indication that “being good/better” is something laying ahead in a future, not something I am here and now. Which basically supports a negative thought pattern, which helps me to critizise myself more and love myself less.

    So my goal to be good or even better has not really changed. But my perspective on being what I am has. And this relieves me for a lot of (unnecessary) stress.

    Take care and keep on writing πŸ™‚

    • Good evening SC and thank you very much for your comment! I think sometimes we have to get down to be able to redefine ourselves and to be able to move on and improve again. Guess that happened to me… I stopped doing lots of stuff I wanted to do and now I want to begin my never ending journey of self-improvement once again but with a bit more focus and direction. Looking forward to begin to apply habit one from Covey’s great “7 Habits of Highly Effective People” tomorrow as I’ve just finished reading his book. Do you know this book?

      Thank you very much for your wise words! As I am reading them, I realize that I often apply that negative thought pattern too. I mean I often think that something should be done better and how things could be improved but appreciate rarely how I have already improved things… And the risk of always thinking about improvement is never finishing to improve something, too.

      Glad for you that you sound quite in harmony with yourself πŸ™‚

      Thanks again and take care, too πŸ™‚

      P.S.: Always glad to hearing back from you.

      • Good evening to you too πŸ™‚

        No, I haven’t read the book just yet, but i read your post about it and considered if I should get my hands on it. At the moment I am plowing myself through a list of other titles, that I wish to get through first.

        Wwat is your first goal on implemeting these seven habits? And how will you make it work?

        I’m not sure if I’m very well balanced myself, but I suppose that I am more now, than I was earlier. Realizing that the goal to achieve improvement has a less fortunate effect too (bullying ourselves rather than empowering ourselves), I came to accept myself in a different and for me personally, a healthier way.

        Are you feeling good about changing your direction in terms of your education? Have you decided to go independent, or will you consider studying for a different master degree?

        I am looking forward to your next posts πŸ™‚ You’re a nice soul, and it’s very pleasant to get my own peep hole into your mind.

        • Good morning πŸ™‚
          Reading this book is like a lifetime mission, so go for it once you feel like doing so πŸ˜‰
          I guess I will explain some of the theory and how I try to apply it one day but for the moment, my first goal is to live proactively – meaning to accept responsibility for my life and reject living too much in my circle of concern instead of taking actions to grow my circle of influence. Achieving this goal and the two other basic habits “Begin with the end in mind” and “First things first” will lead me to indepence from where I can achieve interdepence. Got it (I couldn’t without having read the book but you might try to ask me for more details)? πŸ˜›
          This sounds very interesting – how do you try to improve now or how do you set goals?
          I am currently considering to continue my studies at home but reducing my workload as an employee therefore. Do you want to share any experiences on master studies with me?
          Thank you very much – it is very pleasant to know one more nice soul out there!

  3. What are the challenges I am currently facing?
    I was too long in a similar position and busy hours at work, therefore self improvement in terms of technical know how, has fallen backward. I am totally unaware of some of the basic programs that are very much in use, and I do not have the opportunity to learn and apply those. Question is..why do I want to learn new technologies/programs when presently I am not failing without those..basically I want to be in line with others..and this is my present challenge to learn and use new ideas/technology/material.
    What is in my mind ?
    I am constantly thinking about relocating myself. It sorts of disconnects me from my present, and throws me into a dream world. Not bad..but I sometimes drift too far and start living an illusion which is interesting but waste my time .
    Which is the direction I am heading towards ?
    Presently, I am aiming to head towards self development and that has two aspect, first educational and secondly personal behavior. I am constantly reevaluating myself and trying to break away from “bad” habits and consciously be “good”
    PS.. Don’t ask me about my bad habit, that comes under confessions.
    Your look good in the photo you recently upload.

    • Hey πŸ™‚
      I have to admit the photo I uploaded is almost 3 years old but I hope I have not changed too much recently so thanks a lot πŸ˜‰
      I am just reading a book a friend recommend to me: 7 Habits of highly effective people. You might want to check it out, it provides you with a framework for continuous self improvement based on reasonable principles. I am just reading the whole book these days and then want to start reading it again slowly, chapter by chapter and implementing one chapter after another (chapter one “Be proactive” fits quite well into my situation at work and might save me from a lot of headache).
      You also might want to take part/visit some conferences or user groups or similar activities. I’m always quite overwhelmed by the inspiration and energy I receive by these opportunities πŸ™‚
      Wishing you well for your personal development, let me know how you’re doing from time to time please πŸ™‚
      Have a great weekend,
      Chris

  4. Chris, nice to have you back. I think you are right, you need to do a lot of listening, but you must also question what you’re being told. Always question. You have a mind, the only way to increase your knowledge is to read and question, then question some more.

    At such a young age you need to live more, and think just a little less. You don’t need to make a decision on how to spend the rest of your life…you’re allowed to change your mind and direction as often as you want. Especially now while you’re still exploring the world.

    That’s it for my advice. Simply my opinion of course. Advice is worth what one pays for it, and mine comes free (but from a place of caring0.

    My life is changing in a big way as we are preparing for a move to a new town. Trading in my mountains and oak trees for the city life on the beach. New doctors, (at my age and with MS, a big consideration) new stores, new insurance, a whole new retired life. Still changing. That’s the only constant in life, is things never stay the same. And that’s a good thing.

    • Hey Linda,
      glad to hear from you πŸ™‚ Do you know the book “7 habits of highly effective people”?
      Thank you very much for your advice which I appreciate a lot as I recognize a deep wisdom and experience in it. Questioning is very important. If we stop to question, we stop to care, and if we don’t care, we don’t learn or develop any further. Living is also very important because as long the things stay in our heads, we can hardly move on and grow ourselves. Just my opinion, what do you think? πŸ™‚

      Your news sound great, don’t they? I mean of course it’s a challenge but it’s an opportunity, too… Why are you moving?

      Have a great weekend,
      Chris

      • I’ve never read the book, but understand it has some very good advice in it, and comes highly recommended.

        It’s my belief that our entire purpose of our earthly life is to learn as much as we can about ourselves and our world. All learning is good, even when it hurts.

        We are moving to a beach side city about an hour from where we now live, called Long Beach. It’s a beautiful little city and our new apartment is in a very good location, just 10 blocks from the ocean. I’m looking forward to living close to everything.

  5. Thank you very much and welcome back here, Irene πŸ™‚
    I think you always have a lot of possibilities but once you’re young, you try and should try out things more often as you are not that sure about your possibilities yet πŸ˜‰ One thing I want to add: I think there should be times of trying followed by times of reflection and correction of your direction. What do you think? How are you doing with your shop?
    Have a great day and thanks again,
    Chris

  6. Welcome back Chris πŸ™‚
    Nice to see you here again. A lot has been happening since you left for living out your dreams then. When you are young, you have a lot of possibilities and it is not always easy to see them all.
    Irene

Become a brave one - leave a comment

